Confession: I don’t have a cell phone

…but I do. Only I don’t. Not really.

Maybe I should explain.

As an author, I apparently need to be “out there,” being my quirky self in places where I can lure in followers. Which seems a trifle devious. Like I’m trapping readers. Or tripping them, since they’re supposed to stumble across me, my blog, and my books. As a reader, I get it. Deciding which book to read next is simpler if I trust an author. When their sense of story, their hopes, and their ideals echo mine, I’m more likely to love the stories they tell. And I can quickly get a sense for that from their blog posts, likes, and tweets.

Even as a “regular” person (and in my case a Bible study teacher & pastor’s wife), I’ve found that most of the folks I see regularly stay in touch through texts and social media. Which puts me and my stubborn streak (I don’t believe in cell phones!) squarely out of all the usual loops. So this year, I bought a … ahemsocial media device, which looks shockingly similar to a phone. (Okay, yeah, it’s a phone, albeit unactivated.)

This has given me ready access to little things like apps and app-driven social media sites. For instance, I’ve set a goal to add a new picture to Instagram every day. As you can see, I’m just starting out…

instagram

Here’s hoping your curiosity will lead you there and back again.

Leave a Reply

