CELEBRATE: Pursuing Prissie

Pursuing Prissie, blog

When we kicked off the first Pursuing Prissie party back in July, several of you couldn’t take part because you hadn’t yet read the book. So I offered to host a second go-around (any excuse for a party), so it’s time for some fun. I’ll be doing posts every day this week, so check back often. New art. Outtakes. Story updates. Snapshots. Let’s mark the milestone together.

Familiar faces, new friends, family traditions, high hopes, lurking danger, angelic archers, gentle romance, and apple pie.

_Pursuing Prissie

Pursuing Prissie. Ten years after the events of The Blue Door, Prissie Pomeroy experiences an angelic reprise when she meets another little boy she shouldn’t be able to see. Asher seems to be using his Caretaker’s powers very carelessly, but he claims to be Sent. His meddling mixes up Prissie’s life just in time for Ransom Pavlos to return to West Edinton. The newly credentialed pastry chef hopes to make a place for himself in town, preferably at Prissie’s side. But she’s too distracted by a very different pursuit to notice. An old enemy finds his way back to the Pomeroys’ farm, and the Guardian who knows him best must step forward to keep Prissie safe.

Read it! If you haven’t yet read Pursuing Prissie, the digital edition is currently available from Amazon for $5.99. Yes, I’ll release print editions soon. The files are at the printer now, so it won’t be much longer. If you (or your parents) have Amazon Prime, you can read Pursuing Prissie for FREE in the Kindle Online Lending Library.
Find it on Amazon >>

Review it! While I don’t like to pester, one of my goals with these parties is to give you incentives to review my books. They’re the #1 best way for readers to support ANY author. Let’s face it, reviews are good for business. Of course, my other main goal with these parties is to have fun … so let’s get that started! : )

Fun Stuff

Wall Scrawl Project – what would you add? Thisaway >>

Wedding Cake Challenge – find one to suit the happy couple and pin it to our Reader Show-and-Tell Pinterest board. If you need to be added to that group board, comment below or message me on Pinterest.

Prize Drawing ♦ 7 Winners

Watercolors in Your Mailbox – I have six lovely (and appropriately pink) watercolor notecards by MJMilbrandt (my mom). They’ll go out to prize winners.

Grand Prize – one signed print edition of Pursuing Prissie

How Do I Enter?

  • Comment to enter. It’s that simple. Siblings are welcome to join the fun. ; )

There are several ways to increase your chances at winning. These are entirely optional, but for each item, your name will be added to the proverbial hat.

  • New review of Pursuing Prissie (on Amazon & GoodReads)
  • New review of Tried and True (on Amazon & GoodReads)
  • New review of Rough and Tumble (on Amazon & GoodReads)
  • New review of Angel on High (on Amazon & GoodReads)
  • Contribute to the Wall Scrawl Project. Right this way >>
  • Add a wedding cake pin to the Reader Show and Tell board.
  • Vote in our new Informal Poll. COMING SOON >>
  • What was your favorite scene? Tell us in comments below.
  • Pick a favorite line and share it in comments below.
  • Do one better and tweet a favorite line from the story. Baird and I will retweet you. ; )

REMEMBER: You’ll need to let me know how you took part in the comments below. That’s where I gather together all your names when it’s time to do the drawing.

You have all week to take part in this giveaway, which is scheduled for noon (Pacific) on Saturday, September 26—which happens to be The Blue Door‘s (and therefore the entire Threshold Series’s) birthday.


[[SPOILER ALERT]]

If you haven’t finished the book yet, you WILL encounter spoilers in the comments!

21 thoughts on “CELEBRATE: Pursuing Prissie

  1. Soleil says:

    Reviewed T&T on Goodreads
    •Contributed to Wall Scrawl
    •Wedding cake added
    •Fav line: when Asher -in Angel mode- in the Kitchen with Ransom and Prissie
    •Fav scene (this is the same as last time, but I love it so much!)
    Mimicking Josiah’s clasped hands, Colin asked, “Can I be weird, too?”“Please do,” Jude said, giving the boy an encouraging nod. “Thanks, God, for making oatmeal and for writing good bedtime stories .” Colin puffed out his cheeks for a moment, then added, “And for being real because Farmer Jude says so. So You should let me be part of Your family like these guys. Because being the only kid stinks. Jesus musta figured that out, too. So, yeah. That’s all.” Everyone at the table stared at Colin. Josiah spoke up first. “Hey! Did you just pray to become a Christian?”“Duh.” Colin shoved a spoonful of oatmeal into his mouth

    Like

  2. Olive says:

    Woo-hoo! Ah, I love book birthdays!!
    I remember reading “The Blue Door” for the first time. I picked it up and would not let go for a long time, despite the fact that I was sitting uncomfortably on the stairs. :D

    I will most definitely write reviews!!

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    BOOOK PARTTY!!!!!!! YAY!!

    Favorite scene: When taweal and ekes guardian find out they’ve been switched!!!
    Zeke will stretch your wings to there limits

    Favorite line: Oh this is so hard!!! Ok ONE of my favorites is: Ransom casually asked, “What about you? did you miss me?” “Oh, you know” she replied breezily “Out of sight, out of mind.” “Ouch.” I love it when she says out of sight, out of mind! Made me laugh!!

    Like

  4. Arian says:

    Can those who participated in the last PP giveaway mention another lot of scenes and lines? Or would you like us just to do the stuff we didn’t do last time?

    Like

  5. Sarah Crowhurst says:

    Okay so I pined a cake, and added a drawing to Ransom’s wall, my favorite scene is still when Colin accepted Jesus, and my favorite line is the one when Prissie is in the freezer at the bakery and she remembers she has her cell phone. I cant remember what she said exactly though.

    Like

  6. Priscilla White says:

    •Informal poll
    •wall scrawl
    •favorite line: Marcus moved slower than double fudge brownie batter. (That part made me laugh so hard:{)
    •favorite scene: Prissie and Ransom’s wedding:{)

    Like

  7. Savannah Perran says:

    Oh, picking a favorite line is always SO hard! This is definitely one of them though:

    Their Hedge must have been lending a hand because the Worshiper’s hiding places were as clever as they were funny. He was up ladders and in trees. Locked inside the corn crib and on the chicken coop roof. They located him snoozing in Grandma Nell’s herb garden with a butterfly on his nose. Nat found him in a borrowed flannel shirt and hat, pretending to be the scarecrow in Prissie’s vegetable garden. From the daring to the endearing, Baird kept them running from one end of the yard to the next.

    As for favorite scene, it’s the one when Baird comes to the Pomeroy’s house during Ransom’s birthday party :).
    ~Savannah

    Like

  8. Savannah Perran says:

    Here’s what I did:

    – Voted on the poll
    – Participated in the Wall Scrawl project
    – Favorite line
    – Favorite scene

    This party has been SO much fun Mrs. Kinde, thank you for having it!
    ~Savannah

    Like

  9. Esther says:

    I participated in the informal poll and the wall scrawl project!!
    My favorite scene is unchanged from last party–when Ransom comes to Prissie’s “rescue” and ends up with *both* of them locked in the fridge… ending, of course, with a kiss!
    And I thought about my favorite line and I have to say this *still* tops them all (my little brother and I quote it a ton!):
    Ethan’s chuckle must have elicited a response from his mentor, because the young Guardian looked up into the rafters and reported, “It says, ‘Definitely the pinstripes’.”

    Like

  10. Skylar Perran says:

    My favorite scene (Or at least one of them, the whole book was SO good!) Is probably when Jasper says he became a Christian! :-) ~Sky

    Like

    • Skylar Perran says:

      JASPER?!?!?!? Oh my word! I did NOT mean Jasper! I meant TIMOTHY! I don’t know WHERE my mind was when I typed this comment….. :-) ~Sky

      Like

  11. Arian says:

    * Contributed to the Wall Scrawl Project

    * Added a wedding cake pin to the Reader Show and Tell board

    * Voted in the new Informal Poll

    * A favourite scene:

    “Do you really think Zeke and Jasper would turn on you?” Ransom challenged. “Is that the kind of people they are?”
    “They’ll be shocked.”
    “I was shocked.”
    “They’ll look down on me.”
    “They’re taller than you.”
    Timothy’s glare begged for understanding. “They’ll think less of me.”
    “Why?” Ransom kept his tone even. “For owning up to a mistake? For staying true to Emmie? For keeping track of every freckle on your son’s nose?”

    * A favourite line: “Her heart broke for him, but mercy wasn’t hers to give.”

    * Tweeted (another) favourite line to  @ChristaKinde and @BAIRDjustBAIRD on Twitter

    I’ve reviewed all the books previously. Hmm, on both Amazon and Goodreads? *checks* No! ‘Tried and True’ only on Amazon! So add also:

    * New review of ‘Tried and True’ on Goodreads. :)

    (I seem to call someone ‘engaging’ in every review I write. Note to self: find an acceptable synonym.)

    Like

  12. Micailah Cialella says:

    I pinned on Pinterest, did the poll and my favorite scene was probably when Timothy got saved. It was SO COOL to see all Zeke’s prayers pay off. A line from the book….hmmm
    “I love you, too.” Prissie kissed her future husband’s cheek and whispered, “And there’s an angel sitting on your refrigerator.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

