MONDAY: Do you know what day of the week it is?

This is a Monday post in name only (hey, why not?) because the calendar will insist on calling today Wednesday. To be honest, I don’t know quite when I am. Still adjusting to the time shift that comes with a long flight. But give me a day or two, and routine will kick in and normalcy shall ensue. : P  As promised, I come bearing both authorial newsiness and a few snapshots from my visit to Tennessee. Come and see!

Blog Mentions. Now that I’m home, I’ll be catching up on a few things … like answering comments and saying thank you. In the last few weeks, two people were kind enough to post reviews/recommendations of the Threshold Series and Pursuing Prissie to their book blogs:

Christian Teen Fiction Devourer, review of Pursuing Prissie by J:-)mi
Bookends, article “10 Book Series You Need to Read” by Kiara Kalmey

“Y’know, I remember picking up The Blue Door in the library. It looked interesting, and I was ready to give it a try. I now love the series so, SO much.” —Kiara Kalmey

Harper Collins Christian Publishing. I was in Nashville for the better part of a week, and one of the spots that needed revisiting was my publisher’s HQ. My husband is a former Thomas Nelson SVP, so my kids grew up running around on the lawn out front and playing hide-and-seek in the shrubbery while they waited for Daddy to call it a day. Who knew that a decade later, I’d have both Thomas Nelson and Zondervan titles in print? After the marketing meeting that brought me to town, we swung by for an after-hours snapshot.

HCCP 3

Sweet Tea. The little town where we lived in Tennessee has seen something of a boom since we left. I barely recognized whole sections because they simply hadn’t existed while we were there. The playground where my kids used to play was completely renovated. But the cherry limeade from Sonic was just like I remember. I’d forgotten the trains that roar through during the night. And the catfish and fixin’s at Uncle Buds were as tasty as ever.

Mt. Juliet, TN 2015

[They added a water feature to our old playground. Smart for Southern summers.]

Sweet Tea

[Sweet & unsweet tea are staples at any restaurant.]

Hiking Trails. The only place I really, really wanted to revisit while we were in the Nashville area was Radnor Lake. It’s a tucked-away nature preserve with steep, forested ridges surrounding a lake. Those ridges were part of my inspiration for the topography of Sunderland State Park in the Threshold Series. It’s all moss and stone, creek and root. Narrow trails zigzag higher, then drop into hollows with green ponds. We spotted plenty of critters during our hike, but my favorite moment was coming within a few feet of a young stag.

Radnor Lake 3

Radnor Lake 2

Pre-Order. Don’t forget that my next book is coming out in October from Zonderkidz. Right now you can pre-order the devotional at a significant discount on Amazon. (It’s showing up as $5.60 at the moment, marked down from $9.99.) Take advantage of this special price on Angels: A 90-Day Devotional About God’s Messengers, which will release on October 6, 2015.

Angels, A 90 Day Devotional About God's Messengers

Pursuing Prissie Party. And hey, just a reminder that plans are in the works for a second Pursuing Prissie party. We’ll kick things off on Monday, September 21 … and conclude on the series anniversary, September 26. (That’s the day The Blue Door released three years ago.) ♥

<< LAST MONDAY | NEXT MONDAY >>

One thought on “MONDAY: Do you know what day of the week it is?

  1. Savannah Perran says:

    Ooo, looks like so much fun! I can’t believe you got so close to a young stag, that’s incredible! I love deer :).
    It’s neat that the ridges around Radnor Lake were inspiration for the topography of Sunderland park, I never knew that before! ~Savannah

    Like

Leave a Reply

