SQUEE POST: Pursuing Prissie

Pursuing Prissie, blog

Several of you have chimed in to say that you’ve already finished Pursuing Prissie. We have a party scheduled in July, but that’s a few weeks away. So I thought I’d create a place where you can share your excitement without the risk of accidentally spoiling the story for those who haven’t had the chance to read the book.

Comments to this post contain SPOILERS!
Go read Pursuing Prissie first!

_Pursuing Prissie

What do you want to talk about? Well about the book, obviously, but here are some ideas to get you started:

  • What was it like, seeing the cast ten years later?
  • Share a line (or two) from the story.
  • Did you have a favorite moment? Go chapter by chapter if necessary! ; )
  • When did you laugh? Any tears?
  • Did you learn anything? What stuck with you?
  • Were there actual squees happening as you read? : D
  • What took you by surprise?
  • Did you find yourself with a new favorite character?
  • Have you reviewed the book yet? (Please, please do!)

The main purpose of this post is to let you talk amongst yourselves, so please do! If you have questions for me or for the cast, save them up for the big Q&A post on July 20.

[[[ REMINDER: SPOILERS IN THE COMMENTS ]]]

26 thoughts on “SQUEE POST: Pursuing Prissie

  1. Savannah Perran says:

    Yes, I most definitely gave a very big squee when Baird came back :-). I had to do a little happy dance, ’cause he’s my favorite character, and I was SO, SO happy when he came back :-). ~Savannah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Micailah Cialella says:

    I laughed and I cried (mostly cried). It was so bittersweet seeing how things have changed and bringing back all Prissie’s old friends. It was all so amazing.
    Zeke made me laugh when he said “Sis’ legs are like a myth.” He didn’t change much at all. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Savannah Perran says:

    I can definitely agree that Zeke hasn’t changed much :-). I thought it was funny when he told Ransom ‘I’ll pitch you in the pig sty!’. That just seemed very much like Zeke :-D ~Savannah

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Arian says:

    The part that upset me most was still seeing the transformation of Prosper into Blight. I had to hug my squishy star Prosper Star, who stands for a Prosper who remained bright and shiny.

    We were given no insight in ‘Angel on High’ into what triggered Prosper’s Fall, and it was made no clearer in ‘Pursuing Prissie’. It feels so wasteful and futile.:'(

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Esther says:

    I absolutely wailed when I realized Prosper was Blight. I mean, yeah, he fell, but it was like tearing open all the old wounds.
    I went squee. A lot. I loved the whole ‘kiss when we’re both wearing pink’ thing. I was laughing my head off (not literally). And, while my favorite angel shall always be Tamaes, I loved that Ethan and Prissie (and Ganick and Yarris and Tycho and Raz and Verrill etc.) got to meet and interact.
    I did feel for poor Tamaes, though. Since Zeke was temporarily under his watch-care, he was privy to all the Prissie-and-Ransom related scheming and conversations that Zeke was a part of.
    I was jumping up and down and squealing and singing ‘Baird, Baird, Baird’ when Baird came back, and I was sniffling and near tears when Colin and Timothy became saved. Colin’s conversion was just so sweet (cue older brother from the next room, asking in an incredulous/exasperated voice “Esther, are you *crying* !?!”), and Timothy’s was a long time in coming. And I love that Marcus has his own store now, but I cannot think of Stained as anything but ‘The Curiosity Shop’. I just can’t.
    My brother and I think it’s funny how Asher and Marcus keep playing ‘angelic matchmaker’. Ransom’s prayers must be really effective, beccause the angels are rallying to help him!
    When Prissie and Ransom went to the church for the Messiah rehearsal, and they mentioned the stained glass windows, I thought, “Wouldn’t it be cool if they referred to the piece of glass that Tamaes pointed out in ‘The Hidden Deep’?”. Then, lo and behold, they refer to it! I loved that part in the Hidden Deep and I was so happy they mentioned it. And when ten-years-younger Padgett showed up? Absolutely priceless.
    Basically, I absolutely adored it. I can’t wait until the next Pomeroy Legacy series comes out!
    When I finished it, I was feeling kinda low, because I was thinking “Now I have to say goodbye to all of Prissie’s angels.” And then I realized, “Wait, I don’t have to say goodbye, because I own all the books!”
    Also, Silas and Asher? Uh. Dorable.
    Wow, this is a really long post. But the book totally deserves all the enthusiasm we can give it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ariel Perran says:

    Savannah told me some spoilers, (I let her ;)), and when she told me Milo and Padgett had apprentices, I was like,” WHAT?!”
    Ethan, even though he isn’t Prissie’s guardian, has such a sweet relationship with her.
    It was so sad when I heard that ‘The Curiosity Shop’ was now ‘Stained.’
    It was cute when Koji hugged Ransom in Ransom’s dream!
    I keep rambling and rambling….:) I haven’t finished the book yet, but I’m still going to come back and read squee comments! :)
    -Ariel

    Like

  7. Savannah Perran says:

    I love the part where Prissie asks Padgett when he will give the apples to Koji, and he answers ‘about ten years ago’ :-). I had to read it twice, it was just so cool how you added that little detail in, Mrs. Kinde :-). ~Savannah

    Like

  8. Emma says:

    I’m a little late getting to this post (I’m on vacation) but anyway… I must squee! I had suspected that Prosper was Blight for a while, but finding out for sure was so SAD. :'( I can’t believe how long you must have had this planned for, Mrs. Kinde, considering how Blight’s story is woven through so many other stories! That is amazing.

    Like

    • Arian says:

      I realised it when I reread ‘Rough and Tumble’ after reading ‘Angel on High’. And I was like “Whaaaaa?! :'( ” and Christa was like “Sssssssssssh!”

      Like

  9. Olive says:

    “Pursuing Prissie” was amazing!! I think my favorite part was when Abner suggests that Asher calls Padgett “sir”. :) I couldn’t stop laughing! Either that part, or the part where Ransom has to talk with the Pomeroys concerning Prissie. I was grinning when Beau yelled, “Sis took him!” And yes! There were definitely more than a few squees while I was reading. As for a new favorite character… well, I’ve always enjoyed Ethan, but I really like how he was spotlighted in this story. Thank you so much for writing “Pursuing Prissie”! :D

    Like

  10. Dove says:

    This is a reallllllllllly late post, but I have to squee. I loved the part with Abner, Padgett, Asher,and the “sir” conversation in Chapter 22. It made me laugh and there were several other parts that made me laugh as well. I had no tears, but I was close to them. Especially at the end! And I made high-pitched squeals all throughout the ending of Pursuing Prissie. I absolutely LOVED it!!! And my favorite angel remains Marcus and my favorite human remains Beau. This book was soooooooooooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooooooooooood and I CAN’T WAIT for the next book. Thanks for writing “Pursuing Prissie”.
    -Dove

    Like

Leave a Reply

