MONDAY: What books are in your To Read pile?

We’re a mite overdue for a Monday post, so let’s have one! I’ve never been a fan of excuses, but I have a sorta-explanation of why a couple weeks slipped by without much chit-chat … and I don’t think you’ll mind too much. At the moment, I’m doing my level best to get Pursuing Prissie ready for release. Fun Fact: WordPress lets me know what search terms people use before ending up on my blog. Wanna know what the #1 thing folks are googling lately? “Pursuing Prissie release date,” closely followed by “Pomeroy Family Legacy.” More on that if you keep reading! 

To Read Pile. I read oodles and lots. My desk has a hefty stack of books. The queue on my Kindle app is ever-growing. Trips to the library make me a happy camper. When I love a book, I cheerfully recommend it to folks, but ever since becoming a writer, I’ve run into this odd little hitch. Because I write about angels (like in the Threshold Series), I’m usually asked to rec books about angels. And it’s so awkward because I’m not a fan of supernatural romance, and that’s the twist most angel-demon titles seem to take.

So what do I read? Books that celebrate the things I love: faithfulness, families, and friendship. A little mystery or magic is nice. And wordplay! Yes! To find that particular blend in a book, I usually wind up in the middlegrade section of the library. I love fairy tales, fantasy, crazy schemes, and giddying adventures. Here are a few titles in my recently-read pile. All are recommended!

A Snicker of Magic    The 14 Fibs of Gregory K. Tony Abbott The Forbidden Stone

So … what do you read?

Giveaway Reminder. Seems like lately, most of the hustle-bustle has been happening on my other blog. It’s only natural, of course. Milestones, countdowns, and giveaways are in full swing for titles I’m publishing under my maiden name. I’m definitely still me no matter which blog I’m posting on, so be sure to chatter at me wherever you find me! More about the Harrow Milestone & Giveaway >>

Book Signing. I’ll be joining a group of Christian authors from the San Diego area at a local Barnes & Noble on Saturday, April 25. If you’re in the neighborhood, I’d love for you to drop by and say “hey.”

acfw-booksigning-apr25B

♦  Pomeroy Family Legacy. This week, I’ll be focused on wrapping up Pursuing Prissie, the first of a handful of titles centered around the Pomeroy family. What other books are planned for this set? Well, let’s see … a novella about Jayce & Naomi is on the docket. And so is an “adventure” for Tad, who accepts Grandpa Carl’s offer to send him to Bible college for a year.

Pomeroy Family Legacy, bw

Later this month, I’ll be unveiling the new (final) book cover for Pursuing Prissie, a Threshold Series sequel set ten years after the events of The Blue Door. When will that happen? How about during…

The Hidden Deep‘s book birthday. Mark your calendars for Thursday, April 23. The second book in the Threshold Series will be celebrating two years, so we’ll find fun ways to mark the milestone. : )

<< LAST MONDAY  |  NEXT MONDAY >>

7 thoughts on “MONDAY: What books are in your To Read pile?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I just finished reading “Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe” by Max Lucado. It’s a story with a guardian angel and his colleagues working to help a family in troubled times. Very nice! And a quick read, too.

    Like

  2. Arian says:

    Not that it’s got anything to do with the post above, but … remember that friend of mine, that I’m very different from? The one who made me want to study the relationship of Kester and Baird, for hints on how to Do It Right? Well, he decided he couldn’t Do It any more. Can you break up with your best friend? Cos I think that’s what he’s done. That’s the problem with our being human beings and not angels, I guess …

    Like

    • Arian says:

      On topic: I don’t tend to have a To Read pile, in the literal sense of a batch of books I’ve bought but haven’t read yet. I’m told it is possible to buy a book and not immediately read it, but I’ve never worked out how it’s done. :P

      I haven’t had a library card since my children were small, because I would bring home books from the library and immediately start reading them, to the neglect of whatever else I ought to have been doing with my time. So I’ve found it easier not to bring library books into the house at all.

      In the sense of “books I’ve never read but plan to read at some point” … lots of things. Whenever I come across one of those lists of “100 books everyone should read”, I’m reminded again of books I must get round to … some time.

      In recent years, the availability of free e-books has helped reduce the list of the Long Unread. But people stubbornly keep writing things that other people then decide Everyone Should Read … I think newer books are added onto the list as fast as, or faster than, I whittle the older ones off. :P

      Like

  3. Micailah Cialella says:

    Oh oh oh! I am so excited for Pursuing Prissie! It’s going to be epic, I can feel it! Well I don’t have my to-read list with me right now…but I can name a few books I’m waiting for to release: Pursuing Prissie by Christa Kinde (duh;) ), Samara’s Peril by Jaye L. Knight, Broken Trust by Jill Williamson, and volumes 1 and 2 of Poision Crown by Anne Elisabeth Stengl. Ugh, if only writers could write faster. :) However, since I am currently stalling in finishing my own story, I can’t really blame them too much. :D
    Yay, another book birthday! Can’t wait!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

