Sage and Song, Chapter 2: The King’s Favor

Sage and Song header

Chapter 2: The King’s Favor

When you lie down, you will not be afraid;
Yes, you will lie down and your sleep will be sweet.
PROVERBS 3:24

Up until this moment, Kester had only seen the king at a distance, and always surrounded by many people. Asaph’s passing remarks and his own impressions added up to very little of consequence. He is king. He is wealthy. He is wise. But Kester was finding all the rumors of vast power and worldly influence hard to reconcile with the man standing before him in hastily-knotted sleeping attire.

Solomon stepped closer. “Who do you belong to?”

In his heart, Kester answered, God. But that wasn’t what the king was asking. “I serve your servant Asaph.”

A faint smile. Another step. “So you know who I am?”

“Most assuredly.”

“And you know why your singing pleases me?”

Kester could guess, but that wasn’t the same as knowing. So he gently deflected the question. “Can a child know the mind of a king?”

Solomon’s chuckle was as rich as the tapestries he strolled across. “Tell me your name.”

“I am called Kester.”

The king’s eyebrows lifted. “Unusual.”

“I apologize.”

“Don’t. I like unusual things. And you are far from typical.”

To Kester’s bewilderment, Solomon knelt before the pedestal where he sat. This is not kingly behavior. I do not want any man to bend his knee or bow to me. However, when the king extended a hand, Kester was reminded of the cats that sauntered through corridors and basked in courtyards. Is he trying to tame me? Am I supposed to be afraid of this man? Kester’s gaze flitted to his mentor.

Asaph looked on with a thoughtful expression, but he showed no signs of undue alarm over this unforeseen meeting. At times like this, an angel could only wait and watch to see what God would do. His ways were mysterious, but His plans were always good.

Kester loosened his grip on the harp and relaxed his shoulders. “If I have pleased the king, I am glad.”

Solomon rested his fingertips on Kester’s arm. “You have, and I think my father would have been pleased as well. This was his.”

“King David,” he said, cradling the harp closer. “The father you love and miss.”

“Out of the mouth of babes.” Solomon’s expression turned wistful. “Is it ignorance that makes you bold?”

Kester cringed inwardly, and Asaph spoke up. “You have given him no reason to fear, my king. And for that I’m grateful. Bid us go, and we’ll leave you in peace.”

Solomon ignored the offer. “Kester, do you want to play some more?”

“If you wish it.”

“Oh, child, I do.” The king gestured urgently with his hands. “Grant me this favor, and I will show you great favor.”

Kester shook his head. “I want for nothing.”

Asaph suggested, “Let him sing as David sang. For joy. For love. For God.”

“So be it. Sing to your heart’s content.” Solomon made himself comfortable right there on the floor, and in a softer voice he added, “I want to remember.”


♦ Solomon seems to like unusual things. Do you? Like what?

♦ Hypothetically speaking, if a king offered to grant a favor, what would you ask for?

♦ Fun Fact: Solomon quotes his father in this chapter. Did you catch the reference?


<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER  |  NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story is a prequel to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates twice a week (Wednesdays and Saturdays). More information can be found on the Sage and Song index page.

Sage and Song, © Copyright 2015 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, subscribe to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.

16 thoughts on “Sage and Song, Chapter 2: The King’s Favor

  1. Elayna says:

    Another wonderful addition to this story!
    I’m unusual myself, but I like to things to be orderly,so as long as it’s orderly, it can be unusual.
    If a king offered me a favor, I’d probably want a small kingdom.
    I think the reference is Psalms 8, maybe verse 2?? I think I’ve memorized it before.

    Like

    • I sympathize with your orderly preferences. Clean and tidy spaces have always been best for my creativity.

      She asks for a small kingdom! Sounds like the beginnings of an interesting story. ♥

      Like

  2. Sheath says:

    Some times: books, candy, sushi. Is the reference Solomon’s first or second line. If a king offered me a favor…… Hmmm….. I think I would ask for the chance to dance with his oldest son. Provided he is close to my age, or if he did not know about Jesus I would ask for the chance to share with him and his Family the Good News.

    Like

  3. Arian says:

    I do like unusual things. I like unusual words, and unusual people. I told my friend today, “You’re a strange man.” He responded jokingly, “You mean I’m a wonderful man,” and I said, “Yep, I just said that.”

    A favour from a king… access to his library? :)

    And I do recognise the psalm, yes.

    I’m not surprised the king thought Kester’s name was unusual, seeing it’s derived from Greek and from a rather more recent time period. :D

    Bug report: ‘undo alarm’ –> ‘undue alarm’

    Like

    • A toodle through the royal library could lead to some interesting discoveries!

      And I debated with myself for a day or so on whether to give Kester a Hebrew name, but decided it would cause more confusion than it was worth. Anachronism shall reign.

      And thanks for the catch. I’ve tweaked the rampant homophone into correctitude. ; )

      Like

    • Arian says:

      “Anachronism shall reign.”

      It’s obvious what must have happened. When Kester was new, the angel who named him had been told by God to give him that name. God’s not limited by these minor considerations of a thousand years either way, and there’s nothing to stop Him assigning Kester a name from later in history if He chose. Or if that wasn’t it, a Caretaker had been to Later and heard the name there. Timey-wimey.

      Like

  4. Arian says:

    I have joined Pinterest. Please add me anywhere I need to be added. :) My first and last name should find me – I believe I’m the only person in the world with that name. Which suits me! :)

    Like

  5. Jesslyn says:

    Is this where Kester got the phrase ‘Out of the mouth of babes’? He said it to either Zeke or Jude in one of the books (I think it was the second one).

    Who doesn’t like unusual things? My family doesn’t call me a ‘nerd’ or ‘dork’ for no reason! :D

    I would probably be too bashful to ask for anything. And then I would likely regret declining the offer later.

    I don’t think I got the reference. :/

    Like

    • Yes, I’m quite sure that his season spent compiling David’s psalms would have been the first time he heard this phrase. And yes, he says it to Zeke in Book 2. I’m fond of tie-backs and allusions, so I’m sure more will crop up.

      And yes, you got the reference. “Out of the mouth of babes” is from Psalm 8. ; )

      Like

  6. “Out of the mouth of babes” is from one of David’s psalms. It is highly quoted.
    If I met a king I would ask for nothing because nothing I want an earthly king can give me. A man is a man.
    Ultimately, everything that may seem unusual that I like is not unusual… I guess what I search for in my day to day life is. Some find me odd because I look at the grain of a tree like it is a master piece, others say I’m strange because I watch the clouds differently; however, I believe still what is unusual to me, you probably already share with me, except instead of watching clouds you look at stars.
    Sorry Mrs. Kinde, I think I define unusual unusually. ;) (…And I feel like I went a little over board with my answer; you won’t be offended by it’s length will you?)

    Like

    • Arian says:

      Hey, if Christa can be offended by long answers, I claim the honour of having offended her first, and worse! I usually write reams. I just cheat by chopping my reply into several bits. :P

      But anyway, I don’t believe she *can* be offended by it. So no medal for either of us today.

      “I think I define unusual unusually. ;)”

      It’s a useful trait in a writer, seeing things in a different way from those around you. Try not to forget how. :)

      Like

    • A mind that meanders along uncommon paths returns with little treasures. That’s one reason why it’s so important to capture those thoughts, for their delicate, fleeting things. Carry a notebook! And keep being unusual!

      Offended? Nevah! : D

      Like

Leave a Reply

