Tried and True, Chapter 300: Share My Hope

_Tamaes Header

Chapter 300: Share My Hope

“I am Taweel, mentor to Tamaes.” His knuckles lightly rapped Tamaes’s breastplate. “And my joy is full.”

“But you are pierced.”

“I am.”

Tamaes tried to understand his mentor’s reasoning. “Is it … the child? Do you share Milo’s hopes?”

Taweel grunted. “Will the coming child be the beginning and end of your joy?”

He whispered, “No?”

“No,” his mentor confirmed. “Joy comes from God, who gave you to me.”

Hope trembled in Tamaes’s weary heart. Different than he expected. Better.

Just then, Milo returned, leading a dark-skinned warrior with silver eyes. His slow smile warmed a single syllable. “Ah.”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER  |  READ AGAIN FROM THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a prequel to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information can be found on the Tried and True index page. And don’t forget, story art is on display in my gallery.

Tried and True, © Copyright 2013-2015 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.

14 thoughts on “Tried and True, Chapter 300: Share My Hope

    • Arian says:

      Take my advice, and run the manuscript past someone with eyes as sharp as mine before it’s published.

      The said eyes can *be* mine if you wish. I’ll only send you corrections afterward if you don’t ask me to do it beforehand, so it’s likely to save you time and trouble.

      Like

  1. Arian says:

    I had a feeling Milo’s good news at the end of 298 was “Your charge’s family are believers,” and this confirms it. Good. :)

    Yes, this was a great ending.

    And it’s good to see you, Lucan. ;) Endings are also beginnings, indeed.

    Like

  2. Arian says:

    I have to say it’s my favourite too. We begin at the point where, with the loss of his charge, it appears that Taweel’s joy can now never be full; we end where he says that what was thought impossible has happened. “Joy comes from God, who gave you to me.” I don’t there are many lines anywhere that can top that one.

    And yes, Lucan’s characteristic observation was just the thing to end on. I take great pleasure from your ability to lay out words like a mosaic – this one here, that one there, each where it best fits. I’m a wordsmith myself, and to see them smithed really well is a joy to me.

    … And joy comes from God, who gave you to me. ;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

