Tried and True, Chapter 296: Punctuality

_Tamaes Header

Chapter 296: Punctuality

The Messenger waved his hands. “Rest. Please. It sounds like you need it, after … everything.”

Tamaes sagged back and closed his eyes. What did it matter if a passing Messenger overheard?

“I’m Milo, by the way.”

Taweel grunted, and Tamaes cracked an eye. The Messenger had joined them. He sat quite close, his gaze expectant, as if waiting for something. An introduction? “I am Tamaes,” he offered. “Apprentice to Taweel.”

“I know.” Milo smiled crookedly. “My mentor says I need to work on my timing. I like to fly fast, so I sometimes arrive earlier than I’m supposed to.”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER  |  NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a prequel to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information can be found on the Tried and True index page. And don’t forget, story art is on display in my gallery.

Tried and True, © Copyright 2013-2014 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.

15 thoughts on “Tried and True, Chapter 296: Punctuality

    • I sincerely doubt it. For an angel (for whom song comes as naturally as breathing) to sing himself to the point of exhaustion … that must have taken days. If I were being all biblically poetic, I might even say forty days and forty nights, but there’s no day or night in the forest glade behind the blue door.

      Milo probably came in very near the end, but he heard enough to understand why these three Guardians were greatly in need of their song.

      And Asaph is a boss. (Never try to out-sing a Worshiper.)

      Like

    • Arian says:

      “for whom song comes as naturally as breathing” reminds me of a time when I went to the church of a friend, and the pastor said we should remember that ‘worship’ didn’t only mean singing.

      Having my background in a different tradition, I commented to my husband when I got home that it wasn’t a mistake I was likely to make, seeing it hadn’t ever occurred to me that ‘worship’ meant singing at all.

      And then I added, “Well, if you’re me, ‘being awake’ pretty much means singing, so anything I do while awake tends to include it. But if someone said to me, ‘Let’s worship God,’ I’d expect them to then start praying, not singing.”

      Of course, it’s perfectly possible to pray *by* singing. I like that way best. :D

      Like

      • Angels understand that when they are fulfilling their role/purpose, they are pleasing God. Worship is their service … and vice versa. Koji wished for nothing more, despite Prissie’s baffled line of inquiry as to what else he might like to do, given the choice. And of course, “my” angels delight in song. Corporate, cooperative worship appears regularly in biblical references to the heavenly hosts. ♫

        Like

Leave a Reply

