Tried and True, Chapter 295: Forest Glade

_Tamaes Header

Chapter 295: Forest Glade

Tamaes lay limp—stripped of armor and barefoot in the soft grass. For the first time in his life, he’d sung himself to the point of exhaustion. No words remained, yet he wasn’t empty. Nor was he alone.

Valerian pulled increasingly sweet cascades from his harp, and Taweel played with the flock of yahavim drawn in by Asaph’s splendor. The Worshiper sang on in a solemn benediction.

A flicker of movement caught Tamaes’s eye, and he turned his head. An adolescent Messenger with a riot of blond curls stood amidst the saplings. When Tamaes sat up, the newcomer hurried over.

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER  |  NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a prequel to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information can be found on the Tried and True index page. And don’t forget, story art is on display in my gallery.

Tried and True, © Copyright 2013-2014 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.

20 thoughts on “Tried and True, Chapter 295: Forest Glade

    • Arian says:

      The nickname “my ‘Eke” is one of the clearest indicators of Milo’s approach to people, I feel. The claims of specialness and belonging that Zeke makes about their relationship by calling him “my ‘Lo” are affirmed and reciprocated by his calling Zeke “my ‘Eke” in return. The love offered to him he returns in equal measure and in the way each person will feel the most special and valued by it. Where you are right now, he will meet you, and whoever you are, that’s absolutely fine with him.

      It’s not something I’ve seen even the other angels do to such a thorough degree. It’s a special Milo trait.

      Like

    • Arian says:

      Do you mean sent to Prissie? I think there hasn’t been enough before-Prissie history yet, and that Milo’s too young for it to be that. Though you could prove me wrong again. :)

      If you just mean that adolescent Milo is the bearer of a message that will Send Tamaes to his next responsibility, as well as Taweel and Valerian to theirs, well, it sure looks like it! I’d say the particular significance might lie in its being the first meeting between T & T and their future Flight mate.

      Like

      • Well, now … I’ll remind you that Milo appears to be a young man when he takes the job as West Edinton’s new mailman in “Angels All Around.” Seven years later (during The Blue Door), he’s probably creeping close to thirty. But eight years earlier (about the time Tamaes would be Sent), Milo could easily be described as mere adolescent. Especially from the perspective of Tamaes, who’s been around since … well, Moses! : P

        Like

    • Arian says:

      I got the idea from somewhere that Tamaes’ Sending *didn’t* immediately follow Adin’s Fall. I thought you said so somewhere, Christa? I guess I must be confused.

      And Micailah *is* right again. Sometimes I think I should learn to Hope harder and Think not quite so hard. :)

      Like

    • Arian says:

      Oops, I wrote “Tamaes’ Sending”.

      Different teachers, books and editors give conflicting advice on exactly when to write …s’s and when to write …s’ if a person’s name already ends in S, but the one thing they all agree on is that you should pick one and stick to it.

      I specifically checked which one was being used with “Tamaes” the first time I needed to write it, and it is “Tamaes’s.[thing]”

      But this time my rebellious fingers betrayed me. :P

      Like

  1. I can’t believe it either! It will be sad to see it end, but I am looking forward to the many other stories ahead.:)
    Oh and I was baising my assumption about Milo on the fact that Tamae’s said Milo was his first friend in his flight, Asaph said somthing new was about to begin, and that fact that the story will soon be at its end ( I knew you couldn’t end it without Tamaes being sent to Prissie).:)

    Like

  2. Arian says:

    I wouldn’t have expected it to end any other way myself :D:D, except that I got the idea in my head that Tamaes wasn’t Sent to Prissie till some time after the events we’ve been hearing about. Still don’t know what I (mis)read to give me that impression. :)

    Like

    • I’ve been pondering this. Maybe it came up in a previous Q&A or something? I do try not to contradict myself, but heaven knows I’m far from perfect. : P

      Honestly, there are times when I don’t know what’ll happen until I write it. And then … that’s what happened! Ta da!

      Like

Leave a Reply

