Tried and True, Chapter 281: Blind Faith

_Tamaes Header

Chapter 281: Blind Faith

Cold certainty gripped Tamaes’s heart, and his hand fell away from Adin’s arm.

For centuries, he’d helped teach young hadarim to be wise where the enemy is concerned. The mentors’ warnings were always met with confusion. How could they? Why would they? Such betrayal was more than innocence could fathom.

Newfoundlings were naïve. Tamaes was not. But he’d always been a little slow on the uptake. Like a fool, he’d abandoned his sword and wrapped his only shelter around a newfallen.

“You have been blind.” Adin smirked and looped his arms around Tamaes’s neck. “Allow me to open your eyes.”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER  |  NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a prequel to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information can be found on the Tried and True index page. And don’t forget, story art is on display in my gallery.

Tried and True, © Copyright 2013-2014 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.

9 thoughts on “Tried and True, Chapter 281: Blind Faith

    • Arian says:

      That’s what Abner said in ‘Angels on Guard’:

      “You are very different from the one you called brother. Loving Prissie will not destroy your faith. But neglecting her might. .. Every outcast found his own reason to Fall, and you are in grave danger of creating one.”

      In other words, these things happened to Adin, but you will not Fall in the same way. But possibly in a *different* way.

      Like

  1. Aqua says:

    NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!! I can’t….. how….. WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *recovers* It’s okay, it’s not like I need my heart or anything. *tears, lots of tears*

    Like

  2. Arian says:

    Micailah – certainly metaphorically, and I’m expecting literally as well. We know Adin gave him the scar on his face, and this would be when.

    Like

  3. I’m torn. I’ve really been looking forward to knowing when it happened… when Adin fell… but now that I know… … This is scene is extremely heart breaking. Every sibling’s worse nightmare… *shudders* I wonder, was this scene hard to write, Mrs. Kinde. I know if I was to write this I would probably be sobbing. *again, shudders* What a nightmare to witness your beloved sibling’s fall from grace… I think I would be like Taweel and hide myself away for just a little while…

    Like

Leave a Reply

