This Week’s Accumulation cvii

Our household is chock full of fall birthdays, and this past weekend we celebrated the last of them. Gifts and games and gilded nails—my only excuses for this delayed accumulation post. Before I launch into a new week, I’ll catch you up on the latest clutter. Because it’s piling up all over my desktop. Again. : )  You’ll want to take a look. There’s an Angel Unaware cover reveal this week. Come and see! ; )

This week’s accumulation:
SDCWG♦ I’ll start all the way back at last weekend, because attending a writer’s conference has to be big news. (And the source of a lot of desktop clutter!) Since I wanted to meet with agents and editors, there were several documents to prepare: 1) a “onesheet,” which needed to include 2) a synopsis for my new book (more specific than a summary), 3) my full-length proposal, 4) sample chapters, and 5) a run-down of the books I’m writing under my maiden name. Whew!

SDCWG Annual Writing Awards

♦ Last spring, I entered the SDCWG’s annual writing contest. They have categories for published books, unpublished manuscripts, and poetry. I’m delighted that The Broken Window received an honorable mention in the Fiction category.  -confetti toss-

♦ Okay. Who’s doing NaNoWriMo this year? My daughter Elza is … and I’m doing a variation.

♦ Remember my mentioning that the book cover for Pursuing Prissie wasn’t final? My watercolorist friend has been sending me progress shots of her painting-in-progress, and I thought I’d share a peek. This version will be much more detailed, so the flowers really shine. ✿ I know some of you are gardeners. Do you recognize the variety now?

Pursuing Prissie sample

Although my goal was to bring out Pursuing Prissie this autumn, I’m going to have to postpone the release. The story’s coming along beautifully, but 1) other deadlines are looming, 2) the holidays are fast approaching, and 3) rushing through edits is always a bad idea. Thank you for your patience. ♥

♦ I’m writing the final chapter of Angel on High this week. Of course, you’re still waiting for Part 9, so I can’t really say much. Except two things. 1) In December, I’ll release Angel on High as a digital book … with an exclusive epilogue called, “The Girl in the Orchard.” And 2) In January, a new serial will kick off in my column at Christian Fiction Online MagazineAngel Unaware. As you can tell from the cover (TA DA!), I’ll be telling more of Ransom’s and Marcus’s story.

_Angel Unaware

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

22 thoughts on “This Week’s Accumulation cvii

  1. Christa, love the watercolor cover. The Lord blesses us with his plans and timing. We just do the work and look what unveils!
    Yes, I’m busy at work with nanowrimo……. Getting to it now.
    Be blessed, my friend.

    Like

  2. Jesslyn says:

    I love those covers! Can’t wait to read them both!! :D

    Congrats on The Broken Window’s honorable mention! : )

    P.S. I found 3 yahavim on the Angel Unaware cover. : )

    Like

  3. Emma says:

    Wow, I love the watercolors on Pursuing Prissie’s cover. The artist did an amazing job.

    And I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year! It is the student version, however, which I find challenging enough. :)

    Like

    • Another WriMo-er! Keep at it! : )

      Whenever I’m shy of words, I’ll write in 300-word bursts. A bit of backstory, an interesting setting for a future scene, or snippets of dialogue between cast members. (Practical examples would be… How would Jedrick introduce himself to Marcus? Or how would Marcus’s first conversation with Ransom play out?)

      Like

    • Thanks, Micailah! I’m really excited to share the new stories with everyone! : )

      And I am so glad to know so many of my reader-friends are writers. You guys are awesome! May creativity overflow!

      Like

    • Thanks! I’m hoping to enter the finished novel (if I complete it) in a contest at the end of the year.:) I was wondering in regards to Angel Unaware: Was Marcus apart of Jedrick’s flight before he became a graft in West Edinton, or did he meet Jedrick’s Flight around the same time as he met Ransom?

      Like

  4. Esther says:

    Ow. Is everyone doing NaNoWriMo but me? what is it, even?
    And are we going to finally meet Ransom’s guardian? I’ve really wondered about him…
    And Marcus was totally a cute little kid, I’m guessing.
    The covers are AWESOME. Keep at it, Mrs. Kinde! I’m so glad that it’s not going to end after Tried and True.

    Like

    • Well, here’s the thing. I would only introduce Ransom’s guardian if he helped to drive the plot in some way. Authors can’t have non-essential characters cluttering up their storylines. It’s like … a rule or something.

      I’m just delighted that you’ll be hanging around to hear more stories! ♥

      Like

    • Whoops, I missed your question. NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. You can read up on it at nanowrimo.org, but the quick version is … write a 50,000-word novel in a month! I’ve been taking part in some way, shape, or form for 6-7 years now. It’s crazy, but it’s so much fun! : )

      Like

Leave a Reply

