The Week’s Accumulation lxxviii

What a week I’ve had! All busyness and bustle, with short bursts of creative bliss. I tackled a new Bible study project a few days ago, and I’ve been word-sprinting a fun short story that’s set in the Galleries of Stone universe. A couple of my artists needed me to scrounge up references for character portraits, and in the next four days, I get to do two cover reveals. Lots to share, so come and see!

This week’s accumulation:
♦ Last weekend, one of my young readers dropped in for an evening of fun—Pomeroy style. I sent Miss E home with braided hair, a tin of the cookies we decorated together, and a framed print of some Threshold Series story art. I must say, I wish I could invite all my readers over for this kind of fun! : )

Soft Sugar Cookies

At Christmastime, we use my mom’s recipe for thin, crisp sugar cookies. But for springtime, I always chose a different recipe from my repertoire. These old-fashioned cookies are fat and soft, with a pinch of nutmeg adding sweetness to the dough. The secret is to roll the dough very thick, then bake the cookies at a high temperature. These look so pretty when iced or glazed. I’ll share my recipe:

Soft Sugar Cookies

4 cups flour
1 1/4 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
3/4 t salt
1/4 t nutmeg
1 c butter
1 1/2 c sugar
2 t vanilla
2 eggs
3/4 c sour cream

Sift the flour, measure, then re-sift four times, adding the baking powder, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg. In a mixing bowl, cream butter until smooth. Add sugar gradually, creaming well. Stir in vanilla. Beat in eggs until the creamed mixture is fluffy. Add the flour mixture alternately with sour cream, in two or three additions, beating until smooth after each. Cover the bowl and chill for at least one hour or until the dough is easy to handle.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Lightly grease baking sheets (or use silicon liners). Work with a third of the dough at a time. Roll out to 1/4 inch thickness. Arrange on the cookie sheets and bake 9 – 10 minutes. Remove immediately from the baking sheets and cool on racks. Ice them if desired. Store in a tightly covered container. This recipe makes about 40 cookies.

I chose just a few of the shapes in my monumental cookie cutter collection—hearts, flowers, stars, and angels. Baird would have loved Miss E’s decision to go with a bright and bold color palette for the icing. There were vivid spatters and multi-colored sprinkles all over our kitchen counters. Having multiple colors of icing allowed us to play with some “tie dye” inspired cookies. Loads of fun.  : )

Bright Colors

♦ Last week, I showed you Anna Earley’s thumbnails for the cover of Tried and True. I loved hearing which ones you liked best. Today, I have the lines for the composition I actually went with. I’m planning a full cover reveal over the weekend, so watch for more.

Tried and True, Sketch

♦ I’ll quickly mention my second cover reveal. On Tuesday, February 25, I’ll be unveiling the book cover for Harrow, the second book in the Galleries of Stone trilogy, the fantasy series I’m publishing under my maiden name. Book 1: Meadowsweet is available at all the usual venues: Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Kobo

There’ll be lots more going on over at CJMilbrandt.com as we head into the summer months. I’m kicking off a brand new kids’ adventure series this fall, geared for young readers (ages 5-8). If this interests you, I’d encourage you to follow that blog and sign up for CJ’s newsletter(s).

Angels on Guard 250♦ Most of you have probably already heard the news that Angels on Guard has released. This third illustrated short story in the Threshold universe is FREE from me and Zonderkidz, so be sure to snag your copy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | CBD

If you’ve already read Angels on Guard, I’d love to hear what you thought! : ) And of course, the best way you can help me get the word out about the Threshold Series and its companion stories is to leave a review on the site where you picked it up. ✿

Guardian angels must guard their hearts,
or they’ll be tempted to Fall.

Story Summary: Even after three years, Prissie Pomeroy’s guardian angel only understood part of what it meant to watch over one precious life. The rest he learned on the day he almost lost her. In this companion story to the Threshold Series, scars are bared, fears begin and end, and angels fall.

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

7 thoughts on “The Week’s Accumulation lxxviii

  1. Jesslyn says:

    I read all three of the companion stories and I loved them all! They were amazing! : )

    p.s. I think my mom and I are going to try that sugar cookie recipe as well. :D

    Like

Leave a Reply

