COUNTDOWN: 3 Weeks

COMING SOON!  Book 4 in the Threshold Series will release on Tuesday, January 28, 2014, just 3 weeks from today. To count down, I’ll be doing a weekly post to share newsy tidbits, sneak peeks at sketches, and brand new story art. There’s plenty to show-and-tell!

The Garden GateThe Pomeroys pull together in the aftermath of the storm that shook West Edinton—and Prissie’s faith—to its very foundations. Letting go proves difficult, and holding on takes all of her courage. With the encouragement of a brother who’s in on her secret, Prissie finds her feet. With the help of the bane who’s now a brother, she takes a stand. As spring comes to the orchard, a cryptic remark from Abner hints at West Edinton’s long-kept secret. A beloved aunt returns from overseas. A faded angel takes up residence atop the Pomeroys’ refrigerator. A treasured friend must say goodbye. While ranks of the Faithful rally to defend what’s most precious, Prissie discovers that angels aren’t the only ones who are Sent. [Available in hardcover and e-book editions.]

PRE-ORDER! Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Zondervan

In the bleak mid-winter… The final book in the Threshold Series picks up where The Broken Window left off. With Prissie having to pick up the pieces of her life and West Edinton buried under a blizzard. Since many of you are currently enduring your own January cold snap, I thought it’d be appropriate to share new art of Abner. As one of the samayim, he’s sometimes called a storm-bringer.

Abner by valhalrionAbner by valhalrion

Excerpt. This week’s main treat is a snippet from the second chapter of The Garden Gate. It ties in beautifully with my new serial, Tried and True, which I hope you’re following. ♥ All you need to know to set the scene is that it’s nighttime, and Taweel is Sent to comfort Prissie.

Taweel by Lord DubuPrissie asked, “Will you tell me about your girl … lady?”

Taweel nodded and said, “My charge was a girl, born thousands of years ago in Egypt.”

“Was she pretty?”

He considered her question and eventually answered, “Her hair was dark, her eyes were light, and she was fond of cats.”

“I like cats, too.”

“I know it,” the Guardian replied, the corner of his mouth quirking upwards for just a moment.

“Was she my age?”

Taweel’s head dipped. “Very nearly.”

“What happened?” Prissie whispered, wondering if it was rude to ask.

“There was a plague, and she died.”

That sounded bad; many people must have suffered together. “What kind of plague?”

“A biblical one,” he replied seriously.

“Do you mean the ones from the story of Moses?”

“Yes.” Taweel fingered his earring and said, “My charge was the firstborn child of an Egyptian merchant. When she breathed her last, my service ended.”

Prissie’s heart clenched. “Were you sad?”

“Yes,” he admitted quietly.

“Are you still sad?”

“I will never forget.”

Since she was feeling quite sad herself, it was comforting to know that someone else had known grief, even though Taweel’s was mostly in the past. “What does a Guardian do when his job is over?”

“In the course of time, I was given an apprentice,” Taweel answered. “Tamaes and I have been together for thousands of years.”

“So long?” she asked, startled.

“Yes. He waited to be Sent much longer than most,” the angel explained, his deep voice surprisingly mellow. “When your life was sparked, it brought him great joy, and that joy became full when your life was made new.”

The way he said it, she couldn’t resist asking, “You, too?”

With the barest of smiles, Taweel declared, “I am grateful to be Tamaes’s mentor. It is my privilege to share his joy.”

Squirming uncomfortably, Prissie asked, “So is being a mentor like having a second chance?”

“I cannot speak for others, but for myself … yes. When Tamaes was placed under my watch-care, it was as if I tasted redemption. God is wise beyond knowing.”

from The Garden Gate, Chapter 2: The Spare Room

Are you looking forward to Book 4’s release as much as I am? : )

<< Back Cover Reveal

NEXT WEEK’S POST >>

24 thoughts on “COUNTDOWN: 3 Weeks

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hey Christa!
    I love love love this book series! I can’t wait for the 4th to come out. Please tell me that Milo is going to be ok. He is my favorite angel ever!

    Like

    • Ah, that would make a good piece of art! ♥

      If you can hold out for another couple of months, there’s an illustration with Milo in “angel mode” in the third short story. Angels on Guard is scheduled to release in February.

      Like

    • I’ve never liked spoilers, so I won’t confirm or deny anything. What’s happened already will lead to what’ll happen next. It’s inevitable. At this stage in a storyline, all you can do is trust the author. ♥

      Like

Leave a Reply

