The Week’s Accumulation lxv

Did anyone else love this past week? I had SO much busy, and most of it was the fun kind. I’ve been comparing notes with illustrators, learning how to format manuscripts for publication (Why hello, Mr. Pilcrow! ¶ ), and setting up my not-so-secret identity in order to glide into publication indie-style. Desktop clutter (including a cover reveal for Galleries of Stone, Book 1: Meadowsweet) awaits!

This week’s accumulation:
♦ Elza and I took advantage of our solid head start on NaNoWriMo to coast a bit this week. Our  calendar has a colorful smattering of red and yellow squares now, marking the days when we didn’t make our minimum word count. No worries. We only have to write another 6,000 words or so to “win.” I’ve actually started turning our raw material into finished chapters, which is much slower (but oh, so satisfying).

♦ I only have one more official “thing” left to do for the Threshold Series. All the details are nearly in place for a third short story, which will release this coming spring. This weekend, I’ll get to see the cover, and I’ll do a final proofread. Then it’s out of my hands for good. Looking ahead at my Zonderkidz forecast …

1) “Angels in Harmony” releases on December 3, 2013, which is coming fast. Pre-order your copy of this FREE illustrated short story now. It’s on the Zondervan website >>

2) Book 4: The Garden Gate, the final installment in the Threshold Series releases on January 28, 2014. You can pre-order the book wherever books are sold!

3) “Angels on Guard” releases in February 2014. More details about this Tamaes-centric tale will be available closer to its release.

4) I’m being contracted to write a 90-day devotional about angels. That title is slotted for publication in 2015. Again, I’ll share more news when there’s more to tell. ♥

5) And in what I like to call the “counting chickens” realm, there’s a trilogy in the works. The first book is finished, and my editor had good things to say. I can’t wait to dive into writing the second book after the holidays. Lots of action-packed goodness awaits!

♦ Some of you have been following my blog long enough to have read Galleries of Stone while I was writing it. During 2012, I used the Dictionary.com Word of the Day as my prompt and posted a new chapter every single day for a year. It was leap year, so that meant 366 chapters. Since then, it’s been sitting here on my blog, a little forlorn for lack of readership. So I made up my mind to make Freydolf and Tupper’s adventure available to a wider audience.

In October, I pulled down the story and rolled up my sleeves. Galleries of Stone has been split into three books, edited within an inch of its life, given a shiny new prologue, formatted for publication, and decorated with dozens of spot illustrations. Hannah Christenson is the artist responsible for the gorgeous cover of Galleries of Stone, Book 1: Meadowsweet.

Meadowsweet by CJMilbrandt, upload cover

If all goes according to schedule, I’ll publish Meadowsweet in early December under my maiden name: C. J. Milbrandt. Once it’s available, I’ll let y’all know. If you want to follow my progress in the realm of fantasy-based storytelling, I invite you to visit CJMilbrandt.com. There’s not much there yet, but it’s a start. : )

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

