The Week’s Accumulation lxiv

Have you ever had one of those quirky weeks where you’re quite sure you’ve been running around like crazy, but you’re not sure you accomplished anything? Times like this, I’m glad I’m logging my daily word counts. Otherwise, I might be discouraged by what feels like a lack of progress. In the publishing journey, there are a whole lot of weeks that seem to echo with emptiness. No news. Nobody noticing. It’s just you and your sticktoitiveness, quietly sticking to your writing plans. Maybe that’s why these Friday posts are good for me. In reviewing my week, I have proof that stuff happened. Or I happened to stuff. : )

This week’s accumulation:
♦ Gotta love tangibles. I’ve mentioned before that I usually do a NaNoWriMo-style month of word sprinting three times a year. (Usually in March, July, and November.) During these writing marathons, the goal is to pour out raw material, using daily writing goals as incentive. In between those mad dashes, I switch into chapter-a-day mode, which yields a book’s first draft. Even if you don’t participate in NaNoWriMo, you might fight word counters useful. Most of the ones I’ve used let you choose from several colors … and adjust the amount of your writing goal to suit your project. For instance, here’s the NaNoWriMo Word Meter from Language is a Virus:

 

37072 / 50000 words. 74% done!

♦ Elza and I are humming right along with our NaNoWriMo story. Over the course of this week, we made some new discoveries about our story’s world. The plot is solid, and a subplot has emerged. And as per usual with me, I’ve figured out what I’d write for both a sequel and a prequel (complete with working titles). Today’s halfway-day, so writers want to be at 25,000 words by now. As you can see, Elza and I are still ahead of the curve!

The release date has been set for Angels in Harmony. That free illustrated short story will be available on December 3, 2013! I see it’s already listed on the Zondervan webpage. You can pre-order this fun Christmas treat … which will include the first chapter of Book 3: The Broken Window, compliments of Zonderkidz.

Angels in Harmony by Christa KindeAngels in Harmony: An illustrated companion to the Threshold Series by Christa Kinde. Angels have always served in pairs, but Baird is sure there must be some mistake when Kester shows up on his doorstep. The vividly energetic redhead couldn’t have been more different from his genteel new apprentice. Yet their rocky beginnings give way to a unique balance, proving that friendship can flourish in the unlikeliest of places, given time, trust, and the Twelve Days of Christmas. AVAILABLE DECEMBER 3!

♦ Readers of the Threshold Series know that Handel’s Messiah figures prominently into the holiday celebrations for Prissie’s hometown. Last week, a local friend who’s read my books tipped me off to a local performance. The date’s blocked off on our calendar, and we’re counting down the days. My lot is excited to attend!

Taweel by Lord Dubu♦ Monday saw the start of Tried and True, my new weekdaily serial. I hope you’re reading along. There’s so much ahead for Taweel. Poor guy just can’t see it yet. Story Summary: In Tried and True, we go back into the past, to a time when Taweel was an apprentice himself, Sent to watch over a young girl. When her life ends, his heart shatters. Bitterness, anger, and despair leave him vulnerable. But though Taweel’s need is great, the One who provides is far greater. The grieving Guardian’s life undergoes a slow and steady transformation after he meets a yahavim named Omri, a pair of heavenly Weavers, a Worshiper whose songs are laced with sorrow, and two little boys with auburn hair and wide brown eyes.
Tried and True →  Index Page | Story Art Gallery

♦ And let’s wrap up with some new art. I think it’s rather wonderful that the turn of seasons is beginning to match up with the timeline of the Threshold Series. Book 3 carries us through the Christmas season, and Book 4 will open in winter. A very good time for books, blankets, cocoa, and friends. ♥

Snow Day by rougemieSnow Day by rougemie

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

