Rough and Tumble, Chapter 286: No Swimming

Chapter 286: No Swimming

“Fear not. I have you.”

Zeke’s stranglehold tightened. If it weren’t for the buoying effect of Ethan’s outspread wings, the boy would have pulled them back under.

Ethan stroked his charge’s matted hair. “You are safe. I am with you.”

“’Kay.”

Just as Ethan maneuvered to the riverbank, the younger of the two Caretakers paddled over in a yellow kayak. “Gentlemen, swimming is prohibited in the river. I thought you knew that, Zeke.”

The boy’s head popped up. “I wasn’t swimmin’ … least not too good. I fell.”

“Then it’s a good thing my friend saw you. Zeke, meet Ethan.”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER | NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a companion to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information and cast pictures can be found on the Rough and Tumble index page. And don’t forget, more story art is on display in my gallery!

Rough and Tumble, © Copyright 2012 – 2013 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.