The Week’s Accumulation lvii

My favorite kind of day is a very quiet thing. Stick close to home. Plant myself in my chair. Get lost in worlds of my own making. Left to myself, I’d probably be a recluse. But I’m far from alone, and for that I’m quite thankful. My family does a good job of dragging me out of my Ivory Tower and keeping life interesting. This week was filled with outings and errands. Checking things off To Do Lists is just so … satisfying! So here we are at Friday, and I’m picking through a mountain of clutter. Ready or not!

This week’s accumulation:
♦ I have a small pile of documents that I poke at during spare moments. One sheets, catalog copy, media pitches, and proposals. These are the sorts of things my publisher needs to promote my books, and it’s an interesting challenge to condense a story down to its essentials. And of course, they’re the very thing I need when proposing new story ideas. Which I have in abundance. I’m excited by all these possibilities!

♦ I have art everywhere on my desktop because Anna Earley put the finishing touches on the illustrations for the upcoming digital short story. We finalized the title, so I can reveal that much—Angels in Harmony. I’m still waiting to hear back on the release date, but in the meantime, I’ll give you a sneaky-sneak peek of part of the cover sketch. Doesn’t this capture Baird and Kester perfectly?

Starched and pressed. Ragged and distressed. Poised and polite. Bouncing and bright.

Sketch, Angels in Harmony

♦ In related news, the DMV kindly notified us that our new plates were ready for my car. We have two Souls in the garage, and they’re proudly sporting their names—MYRON and KESTER. For the record, Myron has a racy red interior and lights that flash with the bass notes of his stereo, and Kester is an understated black. When I drive to and from music lessons in Kester, we listen to classical music. Especially cello.

♦ I’m still pulling my thoughts together for the SDCWG writer’s conference in October.  A blurb for my workshop (Stories in Miniature) is now on my home page.

SDCWG 2013

♦ Let’s see. Oh, let’s do some new art. That’s always a fun way to wrap up these weekly posts, and I still have a few more stashed away. In a recent interview for The Broken Window, I was asked what scenes were my favorite to write. Lots of exciting things happen in Book 3, but I have to admit that I love it when Ransom and Prissie collide. Their bickering makes me laugh. ♥ Here’s New Hat by MistyTang.

New Hat by MistyTang

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

