The Week’s Accumulation lv

And with a whoosh and flutter of calendar pages, we’re into September! This past week was good on several levels. Traveling family returned home safe and sound. (Did you receive a postcard from Tennessee? Hope so!) Enthusiastic reviews are trickling in, which is always encouraging. And I finished/turned in a project, which is always a matter of elation. Fun stuff’s been going on, so come take a look at my clutter!

This week’s accumulation:
♦ The next major project on my docket is waiting on my desktop. I’ll begin edits on Book 4 in the Threshold Series this coming week. I resisted peeking through it any sooner, so I’m really curious what kinds of comments and questions my editors have left for me.

Texas♦ Half the family took a road trip back to our old stomping grounds in Nashville, and their route took them through Texas. Now if this isn’t love, I don’t know what is. My husband (who is notorious for making “good time” during our wanderings) actually pulled over to the side of the road to let my daughters get out and take pictures of the turnoff to Baird, Texas. Since they were driving Kester at the time (yes, we now have two vehicles), some of the snapshots have Baird (the sign) and Kester (the car) in them.

♦ Fun bit of trivia. As I mentioned above, our family now has two vehicles, a pair of Souls named Myron and Kester. Both have personalized plates. Myron has a racy red interior and red speaker lights that pulse in time to the music cranked on his stereo. Kester is an understated black inside and out, and we always play classical music when we’re erranding with him. If the opportunity arises, I’ll snap a picture of the pair with their name plates. ♥

♦ Progress is being made with the upcoming short story that Zonderkidz will be offering in time for Christmas. I’ve been working with Anna Early, the illustrator, and it’s been so much fun to see more of the Threshold Series characters come to life. I’ll give you another teensy peek of part of one of the sketches. Who’s everyone’s favorite park ranger? Hmm. I have a 50-50 chance of being right…

Abner sketch

♦ Does anyone else take part in NaNoWriMo—National Novel Writing Month? I’m really looking forward to November. Not only am I planning to take part, I’m going to be colluding with my daughter. Elza and I have been messing around with a fun little plot since… oh, almost a year ago… and our goal is to turn it into a full-fledged manuscript during the annual 30-day novel-writing extravaganza. One of the fun things we’ve been doing while gearing up is a Pinterest “battle.” You can follow along by following our NaNoWriMo 2013 board.

Here’s how it works… I post a picture of something red. That’s my challenge to Elza. She responds by pinning a related image in blue, then issues a challenge of her own. I meet it, then toss down another proverbial gauntlet. Like so:

Red Pillow   Blue Pillow

Blue Purse   Red Purse

Red Prawns   Blue Crab

Blue Oar   Red Oar

And so on. We’ve been at it for a couple of weeks now, and we’ll probably keep right on sparring until our book sees the light of day. And then keep right on going because… it’s so fun! Why red and blue? The answer to that will have to wait until the tale’s all told! -wink-

♦ Let’s wrap up this week’s post with more new art for the Threshold Series. This piece will be added to the story art gallery for The Broken Window. Say “yo” to Marcus Truman!

Marcus by firstfruits

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

