Rough and Tumble, Chapter 226: Farmer’s Almanac

Chapter 226: Farmer’s Almanac

Zeke didn’t like chairs. “I can hear you fine from here, Teacher,” he promised from inside the block fortress he’d been building.

She hesitated. “Can you tell me about our lesson?”

“Almanac stuff.”

“Excuse me?”

Ethan felt a small burst of pride when, Zeke replied, “Spring’s for planting. Summer’s for weeding. Autumn’s for apples. And I already know ’bout weeks and days. Tuesdays are best ’cause of storytime. Are you gonna do storytime again? That part’s good.”

“Yes, Zeke. That’s the very next thing. Will you be listening?”

With a wave, he repeated, “I can hear you fine from here!”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER | NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a companion to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information and cast pictures can be found on the Rough and Tumble index page. And don’t forget, more story art is on display in my gallery!

Rough and Tumble, © Copyright 2012 – 2013 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.