The Week’s Accumulation xlvii

In the midst of the long holiday weekend (Independence Day in the United States), last week’s clutter pile never went on display. Needless to say, my desktop is doubly packed with stuff and nonsense. But before I shuffle everything off into nice, orderly folders, let’s have a little show-and-tell. Take a peek at what I’ve been up to!

This week’s accumulation:
♦ One thing that kept my nose to the grindstone (and prevented me from making my usual Friday post last week) was a rush job. My husband and I both do our share of writing and editing, and we only had three days to turn around a spiffy little Bible study project. It took us four, and I kind of collapsed for two days afterward. I prefer a slow-and-steady pace for my writing routine, but boy is it exciting to kick it into gear once in a while.

♦ Research took over a corner of my desktop. Zonderkidz will be bringing out another illustrated short story later this fall, which means I get to work with Anna Earley again! At this stage, that means I’m grabbing references for all kinds of stuff—settings, wardrobe, props. I found Baird’s ski jacket on a site that was all in Swedish, and I have a lovely reference showing how Kester knots his scarf. Milo’s winter togs were easy to spot in the search results for navy blue pea coats, and I have a reference for Prissie’s new hat. Fun, fun, fun!

Taro Smoothie♦ I enjoyed a small celebration this week. The last book of the Threshold Series is complete. After dropping the final manuscript into my editor’s inbox, I treated my lot to boba smoothies at one of our favorite Asian cafes. Since I was feeling festive, I chose taro this time around. That’s the purple one. For those not in the know, it tastes very sweet and slightly buttery. I actually think the flavor’s reminiscent of caramel corn! ♥

♦ As I mentioned last time around, July is one of my big-push months for writing. So lately, I’m up at 5 a.m. because I need big blocks of concentrated quiet time to turn my abundant notes and word-sprinted scenes into a proper manuscript. I shoot for 2,000 words a day. To that end, I’ve been participating in #1k1hr on Twitter with some of the other authors I follow there. Basically, someone says “Go!” and we all write steady (or as steadily as life allows) for 60 minutes, then compare notes. The goal is to reach 1,000 words (minimum). It’s like a race, but everyone wins. Little things like this are great for helping writers reach their daily goals. If you’d like to be my writing buddy sometime, find me on Twitter. We can encourage one another!

♦ Okay, this is a fun little pile of photo references. Now that the Threshold Series is done, I’m up to my eyebrows in an exciting new storyline. Here’s some of the research I gleaned this last week, wardrobe references for one of my new characters. May I  just say that Indian sari fabric is gorgeous in the extreme. Ah, the colors!

Sari Fabric

And how can you not love these pants?

Pants

♦ In case you missed it, there’s a sale underway on the e-book for The Blue Door. I’m not sure how long the sale lasts, but for a limited time, you can download Book 1 in the Threshold Series for just $1.99. And don’t forget that the illustrated Threshold Series prequel, Angels All Around is FREE. Take advantage. Spread the word! ♥

Bk1, AAA

♦ And to wrap things up, let’s share a little art. I’ve added a Halloween-chapter-inspired picture of Prissie Pomeroy to the story art gallery for The Hidden Deep

Princess Priscilla by JDarnell

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

