Rough and Tumble, Chapter 190: Running Out of Excuses

Chapter 190: Running Out of Excuses

“I dunno ’bout this, Momma.” Zeke had been dragging his feet all morning. It was his first day of preschool. “Grandpa needs me!”

“Your chores will be waiting when you get home.”

“And Jude’s gonna miss me!” he argued.

“I’ll keep him company.”

Ethan’s wings developed a twitch with each new excuse. Was preschool something to be feared?

“What about you, Momma?”

“I’ll pick you up in time for lunch.”

Zeke sulked.

In the parking lot, Naomi cheerfully exclaimed, “Oh, look! There’s Jasper.”

“Hey! Him and me are friends!” Zeke was off like a shot … and never looked back.

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER | NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a companion to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information and cast pictures can be found on the Rough and Tumble index page. And don’t forget, more story art is on display in my gallery!

Rough and Tumble, © Copyright 2012 – 2013 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.