The Week’s Accumulation xli

Hello from my hometown! I’m spending a few weeks with my folks, enjoying a good visit while my boys help their grandpa put in his garden. It warms my heart to see them sporting straw hats and flannel shirts … and coming in for meals with dirt under their nails. This week’s clutter includes a handful of reminders and a passel of photographs. Since this is Minnesota, I’ll even throw in the obligatory weather and garden reports! ♥

This week’s accumulation:
Book 1, Short 1♦ This sale ends after the weekend, so here’s a reminder! Zonderkidz is running a special sale on the first book in the Threshold Series. Right now, you can download a digital copy of The Blue Door for just $1.99! It’s been fun to see the promotions going out via the various networks. The sale ends May 27th, so there’s still time to catch your copy. BUY IT NOW >>

Angels All Around. I’ll mention again that the free illustrated Threshold Series prequel is still very much available. If you haven’t downloaded this short story yet, please do! Story Summary: Angels and demons collide over West Edinton, a small town where not everyone is what they seem. In this companion story to the Threshold Series, a divine Messenger becomes one little girl’s prince, and a fledgling Guardian becomes their knight. A longer summary, cast list, and art gallery are here.

♦ Yesterday evening, I was privileged to be invited to speak at the Scandia Lions Club dinner. So many familiar faces! I haven’t seen many of these folks since I was little, and I think they were amused when I referred to them by my old, childhood frames of reference. Amy’s mom. The bank man. The couple who own the little grocery up town, where we’d always go to buy ice cream cones after a long day of yard work. ♥  The Lions were a gracious audience who really understood where I was coming from … since we all come from the same place! It was fun to share, and I enjoyed fielding their questions about all kinds of aspects of writing and publishing. Proud of my hometown, my upbringing, and these folks who work so hard serving the community.

♦ Spring was late this year, so most of my dad’s garden was still in his cold frames along the base of what used to be a big, old dairy barn. Yesterday, the boys helped him put out all kinds of peppers and tomatoes. Good progress. And a little sunburn.

Cold Frame

♦ Since Prissie Pomeroy (from the Threshold Series) lives on an apple orchard, I was especially pleased to come home and find the old apple tree in bloom. I grew up picking up windfalls under this Wealthy variety apple tree. Good, tart apples, perfect for pies. My dad says this may be the last year it gives us any apples, because when I say old, I mean oooooold. There’s a brace keeping this venerable fruit tree standing, because its darkened, mossy trunk is almost completely hollow.

Flowers in MN

♦ It’s been rainy and cool, but yesterday was sunny enough to encourage the lilacs, which are just about to open. We have three huge bushes in the sprawling front yard. When I was a girl, lilacs were my favorite spring flower, and I used to take the clippers out and fill and entire waste paper basket full of them to decorate my bedroom … which had purple and pink wallpaper and a purple shag rug.

♦ And let’s do a story report. With all the busyness of visiting and touring with family, I’m a smidge behind on Rough and Tumble updates. I hope to catch up pretty quick, but while you’re waiting on new installments, here’s a treat! This initial sketch is by Hannah Christenson for a piece featuring two of the Guardians in the Pomeroys’ Hedge. Bonus points for anyone who knows which members of the family are under the watch-care of Jomei and Lucan!

Jomei and Lucan, sketch

♦ For those good folk lucky enough to live up this-a-way, don’t forget! I’ll be speaking tonight at an event sponsored by the Marine Community Library.

Author Talk with Christa Kinde ♦ Friday, May 24 at 7:00 p.m.
Christ Lutheran Church ♦ 150 Fifth Street ♦ Marine on St. Croix, MN

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

6 thoughts on “The Week’s Accumulation xli

  1. Lilacs are my favorite spring flower, and my room was lilac purple until recently (I painted it tan last summer, just before school started.) I hope to see you tonight, I’ll be coming down after work!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have to say, this is so fun to see and read about some of the origins of your awesome books! Thanks for sharing. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

