The Week’s Accumulation xxxiii

This is one of those weeks when I can look back and smile. The last several days have been a nice balance of busy and restful, with a burst of creative energy that brought three new characters into focus. I’m not even sure how many people are rattling around inside my head, but like the shepherd, I can say that I know my flock. Distinct voices. Unique opinions. Diverse motivations. I don’t have any trouble keeping them straight, but sometimes I wonder if I’m entirely sane. I like this F. Scott Fitzgerald quote: “Writers aren’t exactly people … they’re a whole bunch of people trying to be one person.” And on that encouraging note, let’s take a look at this week’s batch of clutter!

This week’s accumulation:
♦ Thanks to some research for this new story I’m writing, I have an inordinate number of photo references on my desktop, most of which are of men in turbans. And maps. And the initial sketch of a decidedly grumpy sixteen-year-old. Oh, and camels.

♦ One corner of my desktop has a jumble of documents that are for media purposes. There’s been a small uptick in interviews, and I have a couple of short pieces to write for magazines. And a blog post. And confirmation for an upcoming radio interview! Busy, busy!

♦ Much of my week has been spent “with” Prissie and Book 4 in the Threshold Series… so I’m sharing a selection of braids. This may sound strange, but I’m quite interested to see how everything will play out. While I’ve been aiming toward certain things since the very beginning, the characters keep surprising me with how they want to make their way there.

a3bafc456abfcf26cbeff7c98382f03d

♦ In case you missed it, there’s a giveaway going on right now. Lynda Freeman is doing a drawing on her blog Grandma’s Cookie Jar, and you could win a signed copy of The Blue Door. The drawing will take place on April 9, so get your name in! You can also read her thoughts on my series… and look forward to a review of The Hidden Deep next week!

♦ With the upcoming release of The Hidden Deep and Angels All Around, I’ve been steadily adding new art to my galleries. Here are thumbnails of the most recent additions, which include Baird from the Threshold Series. Did you catch the funsy little interview that accompanied the unveiling of Nice Togs? And there are sketches of two of the Guardians from Rough and Tumble. Jomei and Lucan watch over Jayce and Naomi Pomeroy (Prissie’s parents).

Jomei     Nice Togs     Lucan

♦ Last but not least, I have a new watercolor waiting on my desktop. It has a lovely springtime feel, so I decided to save it back for an Easter unveiling. Look for it on Sunday afternoon! ♥

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

