Rough and Tumble, Chapter 120: Slipping Away

Chapter 120: Slipping Away

“You do not belong here!” Ethan repeated, sending Verrill a silent plea for help.

“You deny my place, yet I remain.” The genial rasp continued, “You are the one out of place.”

“My place is assured.”

“Once again, we are the same.” Ethan spun as the Fallen’s voice came more softly. “Will you chase me? Let me lead you.”

Ethan caught sight of members from his Flight circling. “Wait!”

“Why?”

“Your name,” Ethan blurted, wanting to hold him back. “Do you have one?”

With rough-edged sweetness, he replied, “No, for it was blotted out. But you may call me Blight.”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER | NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a companion to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information and cast pictures can be found on the Rough and Tumble index page. And don’t forget, more story art is on display in my gallery!

Rough and Tumble, © Copyright 2012 – 2013 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.