Rough and Tumble, Chapter 118: Only a Voice

Chapter 118: Only a Voice

“Namby pamby. Pampered poppet.” The rasping chant was accompanied by an odd, creaking note.

Ethan whirled, trying to locate his attacker. Although it wasn’t really an attack. Only a voice. “Where are you?”

“Here.”

“Show yourself!”

“No, for I am ugly.”

The young Guardian blinked. “Naturally.”

“Do you mock what I have become?”

Ethan couldn’t imagine doing so and shook his head. Warily adjusting his grip, he turned slowly. “Who are you?”

“No one of consequence.”

“Why are you hiding here?”

“Why are you?”

“I am not hiding. I am simply alone.”

Laughter hissed anew. “Yes, for I am nothing.”

<< PREVIOUS CHAPTER | NEXT CHAPTER >>

START AT THE BEGINNING

Author’s Note: This story in small chapters is a companion to Christa Kinde’s Threshold Series [Zonderkidz] and updates every weekday (Monday through Friday). More information and cast pictures can be found on the Rough and Tumble index page. And don’t forget, more story art is on display in my gallery!

Rough and Tumble, © Copyright 2012 – 2013 Christa Kinde, all rights reserved. If you want to receive an email whenever my stories update, consider subscribing to this blog. You can also watch for notifications on Twitter.