The Week’s Accumulation xxvi

This week’s been adventurous in the extreme, both in my real and fictional worlds. Our family’s in the middle of a cross-country road trip at the moment. (I’m currently holed up at a hotspot somewhere in Louisiana!) In true contradictory form, I’m a homebody who loves to travel. And whenever I do traipse across hill and dale, my creativity spins into overdrive. I already have a whole short story roughed in, and I’m in the mood to tackle the outline for another! So… want to hear more?

This week’s accumulation:
♦ It was such an encouragement this week to have my agent, Kyle Olund, post this picture from a Lifeway Store in Tennessee. I don’t have the chance to lurk in bookstores very often, so I rarely see my book “in the wild.” I think it’s fun to point out that Kyle also represents Annie Downs (author of Perfectly Unique, another Zonderkidz title), whose book is perched next to The Blue Door!

Christa-and-Annie-in-LifeWay_

♦ I’m a big fan of deadlines. Most of mine are self-set. I use them to keep myself on task and on track over the course of weeks and months. Before this big family tour of the southern United States, I wanted to finish a short story I’ve been working on that’s set in the Thresholds universe. It’s done, and sitting on my desktop, waiting for a final editing pass. (I think this is the very best kind of clutter!)

♦ Anyone else out there a collector? On trips, I have three things I hunt for at every stop—state pins, postcards, and decks of cards (because I collect the jokers). Whenever we’re at historical sites or tourist attractions where there are penny crank machines, souvenir pennies are also a must. So far, I’ve tucked away some pretty new pins for New Mexico and Texas… with a site-specific one for the Alamo.

♦ Speaking of postcards…! I did a little plug earlier this week for the story art cards that I’m happy to mail to interested readers. I’m so happy that several of you already dropped me a note providing your address. Any more takers? I’ve been slipping postcards into mailboxes all along the way. If you’d like one, instructions, assurances, and assorted inducements can be found in this post.

postcards01

♦ I’m so excited that The Hidden Deep is coming out on April 23, 2013. The second book in the Threshold Series sends Prissie Pomeroy down into the network of caves under Sunderland State Park, so once we reached the hill country of Texas where there are so many caves to tour… I jumped at the chance to get underground! We pulled into Cascade Caverns yesterday, just in time to catch the last tour of the day.

Cascade Cavern

More trip pictures and postcards next week… as drive-time and hotspots allow! ♥

So what’s cluttering up your desktop? Do tell!

<< LAST WEEK  |  NEXT WEEK >>

Leave a Reply

